Me & Heavy Metal


It’s no secret that I mostly like Metal music. But of course it’s not been always like that. It’s been 20 years since I’ve developed this huge love and passion for this kind of music, so now I wanna tell you how it all started.

queen-union-jack-t-shirt-hrI musically grew up as a kid with Queen in my ears like many guys of my age. It was early 90’s and I remembered all the lyrics, all the album details, every song, even the fillers. At school during class I was even challenging other Queen freaks to fill up missing words into lyrics note. That was huge.

Then while reading a Queen biography I learnt about a collaboration with a great guitarist called Edward Van Halen, and that event led me to my second musical crush: Van Halen, which showed up the same features of the first one: a greedy and never fulfilling need to know everything about the band and the band members.

As you probably noticed if you know both bands, the shifting from Queen to Van Halen was an unaware shifting from pop/rock to hard rock.

publicenemyapocalypse91In 1994 I’ve been borrowed a cassette tape of Public Enemy‘s “Apocalypse ’91: The Enemy Strikes Black” (still one of my favorite rap album) which I soon liked so much. The last track of it was (although at the time I couldn’t know it since that was my first listening of the band) a reworked version of their early classic, ‘Bring The Noize’ featuring the metal band Anthrax.

Man it was a fist on my face, that was huge: low-tuned aggressive guitars, pounding drums. It got me at first listening. I felt in need to have more of that kind. Problem was how? Remember that it was mid-90’s, there was no Internet yet, so finding out information about a not-so-common kind of music was very difficult, especially if living in small and secluded town like mine.

81iht0sldql-_sl1300_The solution showed it up itself by chance. At school there was a bunch of guys with long hair, teared jeans, the so-called bad guys, who had patches on their backpacks showing their favorite bands. Some of them had some funny names, such as Megadeth, Sepultura, Metallica, Iron Maiden. I knew I was on the right track, I needed to find more about them, but the problem persisted: how? I then came to know that these guys used to hang around a record store in dowtown which was specialized in hard rock and heavy metal stuff, so I paid it a visit and when I came home I had Megadeth’s “Youthanasia”, Sepultura’s “Roots”, Iron Maiden’s “Fear Of The Dark” and Metallica’s black album.

It was 1996 and that was my first official meeting with the Heavy Metal music.

Since then it grew up, it developed and spread out like a disease throughout the various and virtually infinite sub-genres that this kind of music has.

From 1999 I started to write about this kind of music on very amateur-ish fanzines then on websites, I managed bands and I organized live events.

All of this with my favorite Heavy Metal tunes in my head and in my heart since 20 years now!

 

This entry was posted in Life, Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

